!LeratoAdventures2020!

Botswana is one of the top destinations in Africa and is known for its extraordinary safaris, fantastic nature and inspiring adventures. Whoever visits Botswana experiences a place like no other. Its amazing scenery includes a wide variety of habitats, from the sands of the Kalahari Desert to the lush Okavango Delta.

As one of the least crowded nations in the world, Botswana has set aside virtually 45% of its territory for conservation, contributing significantly to its abundance of wildlife.
Botswana is a refuge for African elephants.  The country has the largest elephant population in Africa, especially in the Linyanti wetlands.

Botswana is one of the few countries in Africa that were never colonized, despite the fact that it was a protectorate of England. It has one of the most minimal populace densities and probably the biggest residual groups of untamed life on the planet. Because of the revelation of rich jewel mines in the twentieth century, Botswana changed from being one of the least fortunate to perhaps one of the wealthiest nations in Africa. It is a huge open parched nation, notable for the Okavango Delta, the greatest inland delta on the planet, rich in a variety of fauna and verdure. Numerous Botswana public parks are found inside the nation and albeit costly, it gives the guest an interesting chance to appreciate a safari without meeting the swarms of travellers that different nations are known for. It is additionally in Botswana where one can even now observe hints of the Bushmen, the desert-dwelling nomads that survived with bows and arrows throughout the centuries.

Okavango Delta

The Okavango Delta is a remarkable beating wetland. All the more accurately an alluvial fan, the delta covers somewhere in the range of 6 and 15 000 square kilometres of Kalahari Desert in northern Botswana and owes its existence to the Okavango (Kavango) River which streams from the Angolan highlands, through into the unforgiving Kalahari Desert.

The Okavango Delta is influenced by seasonal flooding with rising water from Angola arriving at the Delta among March and June, peaking in July. This peak coincides with Botswana’s dry season resulting in great migrations of plains game from the dry hinterland.

Generally flat, with a height variation of fewer than 15 meters across its area, dry land in the Okavango Delta is predominantly comprised of numerous small islands, formed when vegetation takes root on termite mounds, however, larger islands exist with Chief’s Island, the largest, having been formed on a tectonic fault line.

The 1000th site to be engraved on UNESCO's World Heritage List in 2014, the Okavango Delta is a significant untamed wildlife zone secured by both the Moremi Game Reserve, on its eastern edge, and the numerous wildlife concessions within Ngamiland.

An oasis in an otherwise dry environment the Okavango Delta is known for its superb wildlife, with large populations of mammals and excellent birding, particularly in the breeding season.

Makgadikgadi Salt Pans

The Makgadikgadi Pans National Park houses 2 enormous salt pans - with an area of 3,900 kilometres – think the size of Switzerland and is situated in the dry savanna of north-eastern Botswana. In any case, it is one of the biggest salt flats on the planet. Lying south-west of the Okavango Delta and surrounded by the Kalahari Desert.

Makgadikgadi Pans National Park contains nutritious fields, attracting thousands of animals. It is, nonetheless, a territory of low rainfall and the Boteti River rarely streams to capacity - but often has everlasting pools that attract waterbuck, bushbuck and hippos. In the wet seasons, large parts of the pans are visited by hundreds of flamingos.

 

Travelling into this supernatural land and over the desolate pans, you will somehow feel its ancient glamour. In case you're arranging a Botswana safari - an explorer's manual for the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park is certainly what you need.

The best time to visit the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park relies upon the sort of experience you're searching for. The pans itself is just open during the dry season - from March to October. When the glaring white surface spreads so far that you can see the curvature of the earth. This season includes peak winter days with sunny and warm daylight hours, but the nights are extremely cold. However, from August to November - windy weather sets in, with October being the hottest month - the wildebeest and herd of zebra migrates slowly towards the Boteti River in anticipation of the rains.

 

Meanwhile, the wet summer season of November to March. The road becomes impossible - but the Pans usually retain water into April or May. Which is great for birding and game watching.

POSSIBLE TRIP COMBINATIONS

Browse a little bit through our possible trip variations. We would be happy to customize them according to your taste.

For a personal consultation we are at your disposal (contact us) - travel the world with all your heart.

The best in a nutshell // 5-6 Nights

Northern Highlights

Highlights from the north of Botswana // 10 Nights

Roundtrip Botswana

The best of Botswana //
12 Nights

Actively experience the African bush // 11 Nights

Pearls of Botswana

The pearls of Botswana //
7 Nights

Contact
Newsletter

info@leratoadventures.com

©2020 - Lerato Adventures

Website Creation Isabelle Tschugmall - in the middle

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn - Schwarzer Kreis

!LeratoAdventures2020!

BOTSWANA

Botswana ist eines der besten Reiseziele in Afrika und bekannt für seine aussergewöhnlichen Safaris, fantastische Natur und inspirierende Abenteuer. Wer Botswana besucht, erlebt einen Ort wie keinen anderen. Seine erstaunlichen Schauplätze umfassen eine große Vielfalt an Lebensräumen, vom Sand der Kalahari-Wüste bis zum üppigen Okavango-Delta.

Als eine der am wenigsten bevölkerten Nationen der Welt hat Botswana praktisch 45% seines Territoriums für den Naturschutz reserviert und damit wesentlich zu seinem Reichtum an Wildtieren beigetragen.

Botswana ist ein Zufluchtsort für afrikanische Elefanten.  Das Land hat die größten Elefantenpopulationen Afrikas, insbesondere in den Linyanti-Feuchtgebieten.

Botswana ist eines der wenigen Länder Afrikas, das nie kolonisiert wurde, obwohl es ein Protektorat Englands war. Es hat eine der geringsten Bevölkerungsdichten und wahrscheinlich die größten Restgruppen ungezähmten Lebens auf dem Planeten. Jahrhundert wandelte sich Botswana von einem der am wenigsten wohlhabenden zu einem der vielleicht extravagantesten Länder Afrikas, da im zwanzigsten Jahrhundert reiche Juwelenminen entdeckt wurden. Es ist ein riesiges, offenes, ausgetrocknetes Land, bekannt für das Okavango-Delta, das größte Delta des Planeten, reich an einer Vielzahl von Tieren und Pflanzen. Zahlreiche öffentliche Parks in Botswana befinden sich im Landesinneren, und wenn auch kostspielig, bietet es dem Gast eine interessante Gelegenheit, eine Safari zu genießen, ohne den Schwärmen von Reisenden zu begegnen, für die verschiedene Nationen gefeiert werden. Es ist zusätzlich in Botswana, wo man auch heute noch Hinweise auf die Buschmänner, die in der Wüste lebenden Nomaden, beobachten kann, die mit Pfeil und Bogen durch die Jahrhunderte überlebt haben.

Okavango Delta

Das Okavango-Delta ist ein bemerkenswertes Feuchtgebiet. Umso mehr ist es ein Schwemmfächer, denn das Delta erstreckt sich zwischen 6 und 15 000 Quadratkilometern Kalahari-Wüste im Norden Botswanas und verdankt seine Existenz dem Okavango (Kavango)-Fluss, der vom angolanischen Hochland über den Caprivi-Streifen Namibias in die unversöhnliche Kalahari-Wüste fliesst.

Das Okavango-Delta wird von jahreszeitlich bedingten Überschwemmungen beeinflusst, bei denen zwischen März und Juni aufsteigendes Wasser aus Angola in das Delta gelangt und im Juli seinen Höhepunkt erreicht. Dieser Höhepunkt fällt mit der Trockenzeit Botswanas zusammen, was zu grossen Wanderungen von Flachwild aus dem trockenen Hinterland führt.

Im Allgemeinen flach, mit einer Höhenschwankung von weniger als zwei Metern über das gesamte Gebiet, besteht das Festland im Okavango-Delta überwiegend aus zahlreichen kleinen Inseln, die entstanden sind, als die Vegetation auf Termitenhügeln Wurzeln schlug, grössere Inseln gibt es jedoch, wobei die grösste Insel Chief's Island auf einer tektonischen Bruchlinie entstanden ist.

Als 1000. Stätte, die 2014 in die UNESCO-Liste des Welterbes aufgenommen wurde, ist das Okavango-Delta eine bedeutende ungezähmte Lebenszone, die sowohl durch das Moremi-Wildreservat an seinem östlichen Rand als auch durch die zahlreichen Wildtier-Konzessionen innerhalb Ngamilands gesichert wird.

Als Oase in einer ansonsten trockenen Umgebung ist das Okavango-Delta für seine hervorragende Tierwelt bekannt, mit grossen Säugetierpopulationen und hervorragender Vogelbeobachtung, insbesondere während der Brutzeit.

Makgadikgadi Salt Pans

Der Makgadikgadi-Pan-Nationalpark ist eine Salzpfanne - mit einer Fläche von 3.900 Kilometern. Er liegt in der Trockensavanne im Nordosten Botswanas. Auf jeden Fall ist es eine der grössten Salzebenen des Planeten. Sie liegt südwestlich des Okavango-Deltas und ist von der Kalahari-Wüste umgeben.

Der Makgadikgadi-Pan-Nationalpark enthält nahrhafte Felder, die Tausende von Tieren anziehen. Nichtsdestotrotz ist es ein Gebiet mit geringen Niederschlägen, und der Boteti-Fluss strömt selten bis zur Grenze seiner Kapazität - hat aber oft ewige Tümpel, die Wasserböcke, Buschböcke und Flusspferde anziehen.

Wenn Sie in dieses übernatürliche Land und über die trostlosen Tümpel reisen, werden Sie irgendwie seinen uralten Glanz spüren. Falls Sie eine Botswana-Safari arrangieren - ein Forscherhandbuch für den Makgadikgadi-Pfannen-Nationalpark ist sicherlich das, was Sie brauchen.

Die beste Zeit, den Makgadikgadi-Pan-Nationalpark zu besuchen, hängt von der Art der Erfahrung ab, die Sie suchen. Der Pfannen-Nationalpark selbst ist nur während der Trockenzeit - von März bis Oktober - geöffnet. Wenn sich die gleissend weisse Oberfläche so weit ausbreitet, dass man die Krümmung der Erde sehen kann. In dieser Jahreszeit gibt es Spitzentage im Winter mit sonnigen und warmen Tageslichtstunden, aber die Nächte sind extrem kalt. Von August bis November - wenn windiges Wetter einsetzt, wobei der Oktober der heisseste Monat ist - wandern die Gnus und Zebraherden in Erwartung der Regenfälle langsam in Richtung Boteti-Fluss.

Währenddessen ist die nasse Sommersaison von November bis März. Strassen werden unmöglich - aber die Pans halten das Wasser gewöhnlich bis in den April oder Mai zurück. Das ist ideal für die Vogel- und Wildbeobachtung.

MÖGLICHE TRIP-KOMBINATIONEN

Stöbern Sie ein bischen in unseren möglichen Tripvariationen. Gerne stellen wir diese auch individuell nach Ihrem Gusto um.

Für eine persönliche Beratung stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung (zum Kontakt) – von ganzem Herzen die Welt bereisen.

Nördl. Höhepunkte

Highlights vom Norden Botswanas // 10 Nächte

Roundtrip Botswana

Das beste von Botswana //
12 Nächte

Perlen Botswana's

Die Perlen von Botswana //
7 Nächte

Kontakt
Newsletter

info@leratoadventures.com

©2020 - Lerato Adventures

Website Creation Isabelle Tschugmall - in the middle

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn - Schwarzer Kreis